Security of supply in East Africa

East Africa | November 2018 - August 2019

Eastern African Power Pool, EAPP, will each year be publishing a Power Balance Statement. This means compiling the balance between expected electricity consumption and generation capacity for the next ten years. The balance must be made both nationally and regionally – which may highlight possible opportunities for improving security of supply through cooperation across national borders. The countries have experienced strong growth in electricity consumption (7-9% p.a.), but there are only few strong transmission links between the countries. However, new links are being added these years, for instance is a strong DC connection between Ethiopia and Kenya due to come in operation in 2019.

Other parts of the project focus on power flow models (PSS/E) and the implementation of the EAPP interconnector code.

There are 11 countries participating in EAPP: Libya, Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, DRC, Kenya and Tanzania.

The project is carried out for the World Bank by Tractebel (project lead), Energinet, and Ea Energy Analyses.

Hvor vi har arbejdet

Vietnamese Energy Outlook in 2017 og 2019

Ea Energianalyse

Where we live

Wind power integration

Mexican Renewable Energy Outlook

Eastern African Power Pool Master plan

Indonesian Renewable Energy Outlook

China Energy Outlook

See our China projects!

Baltic Sea Region

South Africa projects